A new word in my vocabulary

Recently, I was reading an article about the India-Chinese relation. The Chinese Prime minister was in India for the BRICS meet. With the attacks on the Indian army bunkers in near future, the Indian diplomats were all guns to gain attention to this fiasco. This they chose to do by alienating our  neighbor – Pakistan on a world stage. This act got some attention and sympathy from the stalwarts like US and Russia but Pakistan’s ally China had other ways to deal with this situation. China decided to the play the “aggressor-victim” card. I have heard who a passive aggressor was, but this was something new.

China is a very smart nation, it is known to support Pakistan from ages. The only reason for this act being that an enemy’s enemy is a friend. China never supports Pakistan for any of its acts openly, yet it supports it cause. And it did the same this time too. It accused India for blaming Pakistan for the terrorist attacks. This being one off situation where it aggressively supported Pakistan and came out of the veil. The fury was directed towards India for being insensitive to snap a friendly atmosphere in the South East Asian region. The stance was strong, with BRICS meet around there had to be balm along with the bruise that China inflected. And balm came in the packaging of victimization of Pakistan. China addressed that for any terrorist attack Pakistan cannot be made responsible. Adding that Pakistan is state working for peace and has been sufferer of terrorism more than any country. What a wonderful way to make your goon-like presence felt.

How do you respond to such a stance seemed a tough question to me. You cannot go all out on China considering that China made Pakistan a victim to gain any sympathy in any case of backlash. You cannot listen to the rant in silence given India would find itself as a weak state globally. To add to this, the timing of the statement could not have been perfect with the BRICS meeting around. India had called off the SAARC meet which included Pakistan, but could not afford to sideline China in BRICS given the stakes were higher in this situation. India however chose to stick by its stance without putting any pressure on China. India carefully steered out of the situation. I am no world diplomat, neither am I a connoisseur of diplomacy but the solution did not convince me personally. To which I thought, do I face such aggressive-victims in my life?

To my surprise, I do, almost as frequently as I can. These people I am talking about are aggressively fighting among themselves and when confronted of their mistakes to be the cause of the fight, play the victim almost instantly. Now the situation has parallels to the Sino-Indian situation. Though, I act as a mediator in the situation. My task remains to calm the parties involved in conflicts. The problem remains that I cannot blame anyone, I cannot point to causes of the fight yet I have to calm the aggression. I too, like my state India, go for diplomacy. But in personal matters diplomacy generally backfires pretty bad.

The word was new in my vocabulary. It gave me a new perspective to the various type of people involved in my life. Now whenever I introspect I do take the aggression-victim as one of the major points. I believe it powerful quality too. Making a good use of this quality with correct timing can do wonders. Like it did for China.

Leave a Reply

